Aside

Change is Gooood!!

9 Jul

In the next few months there is going to be a lot of change in my life. In a week from today I will be starting my “Big Girl” job and soon be getting my own place!! I have been mentally preparing myself for the coming change and responsibility. I have been thinking a lot about the woman I long to become as I take that next big step toward independence. Like every multi-tasking girl does…I made a list!

I Am GOING to be a Woman who…

  • Puts God First and Pursues Him daily
  • Listens for Gods voice and follows His lead
  • Works hard and does everything the best I can
  • Speaks words of love and encouragement to those around me
  • Forgives and Loves without condition and with holds love from no one.
  • Embraces the outcasts; making them feel at home
  • Is aware of the needs of others surrounding her and has the courage, faith, and drive to meet them
  • Moves through life with Grace and without fear for the future
  • Trusts God in ALL seasons of life
  • Doesn’t fear failure and always willing to try new things
  • Constantly dares to move outside of her comfort zone and never plays it “safe”
  • Is confident in who she is and gives herself the freedom to be herself around everyone
  • A Great Wife, Mother, and Friend!

It would be naive to expect to become this woman over night! It would take years and years!!! Becoming the person we long to be can NEVER JUST be a 180 degree turn… it’s more like 180, 1 degree turns…(How is that for encouragement?!!)

Life is ALOT like those slow moving literary films where the characters evolve over time; a little more through each event, each interaction, and each relationship. I often get restless at the lack of action and fast moving plot, but there is something BEAUTIFUL in the slow moving pace. It is the journey the characters travel that leaves us pondering and reflecting after the film…not the actual change in character.

If I am lucky enough to live until I’m old, wise, and shriveled, I’d want to look back at my life and look fondly on the story God crafted for me. I want to know without a doubt that I lived it well; that I responded to each event and circumstance with grace and gusto, that each interaction held a greater purpose, and that I loved those in my life as my good Lord loved me! Years from now my hope is that the woman in the mirror would be a reflection of the woman I long to be.

The journey to becoming the man or woman you desire to be can start now! Let’s do this together!! 😀 You In?!

Leave a Reply

